Pumpkin Muffins with Pecans, Cranberry, and Chocolate

I love the fall and I love pumpkins. So now with all my new free time, I’ve been cooking up a storm! Last night I made a pumpkin sauce for pasta, which is now my new comfort food. I’ll be eating it this whole chilly weekend. I can’t wait.

So with the leftover pumpkin, I looked up some recipes and I came across a few that incorporated applesauce in the muffins. I’ve never tried this, so I thought I would give it a shot. I used a recipe from allrecipes.com and customized it a little. My first actual, good, somewhat original recipe! I accidentally bought sweetened applesauce, which I think gave it a little bit of an off-flavor, so next time I’ll make it right. I also had some trail mix leftover that my mom gave us in our honeymoon care package, so instead of the raisins the recipe called for, I picked out the cranberry and chocolate pieces and put those in. The original recipe called for walnuts, but I prefer pecans for a more autumny taste. I also tried some flaxseed meal that we have, to pretend like this is actually healthy…. 😉

Makes 18-20 muffins:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup flaxseed meal
1 cup white sugar
1 cup light or dark brown sugar
3/4 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
3 eggs
1 15oz can pumpkin
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
3/4 cup of dried cranberries and chocolate pieces (or raisins or any trail mix)
1/2 cup chopped pecans

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease 1 1/2 muffin tins or line with paper liners.
  • In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. In a separate bowl, mix the eggs, pumpkin, and applesauce until smooth. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients and stir thoroughly to make a smooth batter. Stir the remaining ingredients into the batter. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups to about 3/4 full.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  • Allow to cool in the pans until you can lift them out and enjoy warm, deliciously moist muffins!
Leave a Reply

